Amazon has announced a string of brand new additions to the cast of their prequel Lord of The Rings series that will begin shooting soon in Auckland, New Zealand. 

Those new additions include Owain Arthur, Nazanin Boniadi, Tom Budge, Ismael Cruz Cordova (The Mandalorian), Tyroe Muhafidin, Sophia Nomevete, Megan Richards, Dylan Smith, Charlie Vickers, and Daniel Weyman. 

Robert Aramayo (Game of Thrones), Morfydd Clark, Ema Horvath, Joseph Mawle, and Markella Kavenagh had been previously reported by trades which were also confirmed by Amazon today. 

The Lord of The Rings series will be taking place during the Second Age of Middle-Earth which focuses on an era when the Rings of Power are forged (along with the Master Ring) and before the ultimate defeat of the evil Sauron. This period is thousands of years before The Hobbit and Lord of The Rings trilogy allowing Amazon plenty of time to cover in multiple seasons. 

It will feature various lands and kingdoms not covered in the previous six movies. 

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom director J.A. Bayona is set to direct the first two episodes.

There is an expectation given that the first season is said to consist of 20-episodes it likely won’t be ready to air on Amazon until sometime in 2021. 

Actors are expected to commit to at least 5-6 seasons. 


Leave a Reply

Notify of